Springingtiger's Blog


A Love Affair with Autism?

I was perusing my twitter newspaper – The autism Daily– when I came across a tweet from Jeanne Holverstott @JHolverstott with the intriguing title My Love Affair with Autism with a link to her blog of the same name. I say intriguing because autism is part of me, it fascinates me but I don’t think I would say I love it. Those of us who have autism spectrum disorders have no choice but to live it, our parents, families and – in some cases – friends have an obvious connection with autism but why would anyone with the choice make autism central to their life?

Jeanne’s blog explains how she came to encounter autism, she says a little about herself “About this NT” but I haven’t yet been able to work out why she has chosen to dedicate her life to us. I am very grateful that she has. I think it is very important that we have NeuroTypicals without any vested interest who are prepared to work with and fight for us. Jeanne is not the only one but in a community with divers factions of parents and people with autism pushing various agendas it is good to have people with sensitivity to the issues but without attachment to faction. Thank you Jeanne.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Thank you so much for your kind words. It is my honor.

Comment by jholverstott




Leave a Reply

