Springingtiger's Blog


Domino Diagnosis and the Thinking Person’s Guide to Autism

It would appear that, as well as being on the Spectrum, I am also an autism parent. I never suspected my daughter might have an ASD, not even after I received my own diagnosis. It was my wife you suggested it as a possibility and it would explain much about her journey through life. My adult daughter did an online autism test which suggests she is on the Spectrum – http://glennrowe.net/BaronCohen/AutismSpectrumQuotient/AutismSpectrumQuotient.aspx – but as yet she hasn’t decided whether to go for assessment. It appears to be a common phenomenon that the diagnosis of one family member reveals others on the spectrum.

My wife has been adding to our library of autism books – you’d think she’d know better than to feed my obsessions! – and among her selection is Aspergirls by Rudy Simone which seems to suggest that my daughter is an Aspie. I feel about my daughter much as I felt about my own diagnosis, that if only I’d known sooner we could have done something to avoid some of her problems before they arose. For a while I also underwent “autism parent guilt” you know the one, “is it something I did, is there something I could have done? and – in my case – am I to blame for passing on my genes?” I am delighted that our book order also included the quite excellent Thinking Person’s Guide to Autism which I am reading, and it makes it very clear that I am not the only parent to experience guilt. There is a lot of book still to read, but so far it is helping me make sense of my daughter, and myself as well as opening my eyes to aspects of autism I had not already considered. I just love the willingness of so many people to share from their experiences, I don’t know how much it will help me with my daughter, but it’s certainly helping me with me!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

