Springingtiger's Blog


Ambidexterity

As you will know I have committed to posting to my blog every day, today I am up against it, circumstances have left me short of time. I could dash something out , but I feel that would defeat my purpose. I owe it to those who read my blog to make it worth their while, sometimes it will be better than others, but my commitment is not only to blog every day, but also to give something of value, or I may as well not post at all.

Those few who have been reading me for a few years will be aware of the pride I have in my ambidexterity. In 2010 that pride took a knock for a while when I discovered that in some cases, using both hands interchangeably indicates psychological and processing difficulties. Some people have an inability inability to cross the mid-line of the body, so they will, for example, reach for a pen with one hand and pass it to the other to do the writing. For a while I was concerned that my ambidexterity was something else.

I took a careful look at my ambidexterity. As an autistic person I do have information and sensory processing difficulties, but on reflection I realised my mid-line was crossable, I have used Brain Gym for several years. My lack of focus when not sufficiently engaged has always been obvious, and I do have difficulties processing language, but only in the presence of other conflicting inputs, and I can be clumsy with some deficiencies in spacial awareness. So although I share some characteristics with people for whom using both hands my ambidexterity is different. I have a high level of control and can use my hands interchangeably, actively selecting which to to use. Like ambidexterity left-handedness has also been seen as both blessing and curse – quite literally in the cases of left handed children forced to write with their right, because the left was associated with the devil – and has been the preserve of many creative people including five of the last seven Presidents of the United States.

It is highly probable that my ambidexterity and autism are related, but it is clear that my use of both hands is not a disability, but, given the control I have over it, an advantage. I like to think that in one way or another it puts me in the company of Franklin, Tesla, Fleming and Einstein. Add to these the catalogue of outstanding left-handers and I am in very good company!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Hi, i feel that i noticed you visited my weblog thus i got here to go back the choose?

.I am trying to find issues to enhance my web site!I suppose its
good enough to use a few of your ideas!!

Comment by Victims of domestic violence




Leave a Reply

