Springingtiger's Blog


A Funny Weekend

At the end of last year I was on the Causing The Miraculous Seminar run by Landmark Education. We had to fill in a form with our contact details and on that form we had to fill in what miracle we wanted from the course; I put down that I wanted to do a stand up comedy set. I enjoy comedy and have a huge amount of respect for anyone who can stand on stage and make people laugh, I often thought I would have loved to be able to do the same. Gradually over the years the thought of doing a comedy set somehow crept onto my “Bucket List”, it was only as my hand wrote on the form that I realised how great a desire it had become.

My comedy set might have remained no more than an increasingly present desire but for an unforeseen and happy circumstance. My friend Rintu Basu – author of of the Persuasion Skills Black Book – shared details of a Stand Up Comedy workshop with added Hypnosis and NLP run by Blane Savage and John (Obi) O’Brien in the Griffin pub in Glasgow. Rintu’s recommendation was enough, it was the right course at the right time and so I signed up for it.

Today was the first day and I have thoroughly enjoyed it. Many people have problems with performing before an audience so Blane uses NLP techniques to enable them to manage their fears. Obi, on the other hand, is a comedian and uses his experience to help the participants develop their material. The course is primarily practical, the participants practice material and receive feedback on the material and presentation. Tonight my homework is to develop my material further before tomorrow. At the end of tomorrow we all get to perform live before an audience, I do not know how it will go, but, whatever happens I will have accomplished a major goal.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

