Springingtiger's Blog


I’d Forget My Head
May 2, 2013, 23:35
Filed under: asperger's syndrome, social media, Writing | Tags: , ,

Today I completely forgot about my blog until just now. Perhaps it is a reaction to the intense activity of April, I have just kicked back and relaxed. It must be admitted that my memory has never been entirely reliable, although I am rather better at remembering things that matter to me than things that don’t. My wife was once commenting on poor memory being a sign of Alzheimer’s, she looked at me and said, “Your memory’s always been so bad, if you got Alzheimer’s how would we know?” I think that’s a bit of an exaggeration, but you get the point.

I am one of those people who carries notebooks to capture things they want to remember, unfortunately I have a tendency to forget to actually make the note. I have several apps on my phone that I use to aid my memory: I use FlexR to keep an eye on the days I am supposed to be working, I enter my actual shift times into Work Shifts Free and I back both up with a paper diary. I use MyCalendar to remind me of people’s birthdays and to the extent that it is automated it is very useful. The problem with apps, as with notebooks, is that they rely on a degree of human participation which I don’t always provide.

It is too easy to think of something that should be noted and put it off until later only to forget. I keep a notebook by my bed for snatches of verse that present themselves to my dreaming mind. Last night I had to stay awake for several hours because my brain was buzzing with thoughts related to a course my wife is preparing. Instead of sleeping I was experimenting on producing slide presentations from a mobile. I did so in both Polaris Office and Kingsoft Office and transferred them to PC via the cloud. On reflection I should have just made a more to do the experiment later, perhaps I might have been more awake today and have remembered my blog, but I wouldn’t bet on it.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

