Springingtiger's Blog


Sunday, Bloody Sunday.

I woke up today, later than intended, and checked my phone. When I discovered just how many Facebook notifications there were, I thought, some people have too much time on their hands, and then I remembered it was Sunday. However did people fill their Sunday mornings before they had Facebook. I suppose there was a time when they went to church and then had only the afternoon to fill.

There was a time when the country shut down on Sunday, now everything is open, I know families whose idea of a day out is to visit a shopping mall, as we, in imitation of the Americans who invented the abominations, increasingly call them. Should there not be at least one day in which people abstain from the obsession with shopping? I suppose there is something to be said for a day “with X at Braehead” followed by photographing one’s Big Mac and uploading the picture to Facebook, but it’s not to my taste.

A century ago Sunday was the only day many people had free, there was not a lot to do not much money with which to do it. However the railway network covered the whole of the British Isles and walking cost nothing so the pastime of rambling was born. Sadly today the train is stupidly expensive, the network not so extensive and country roads are filled with noisy cars. Still a walk remains a good use of a Sunday.
There is now no need to suffer like Tony Hancock in a Sunday Afternoon at Home, of which I recently discovered a nice reconstruction https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v4K44zg2Usk&feature=youtube_gdata_player Personally I hope to be able to enjoy my garden, but at the very least there are more television stations than anyone could need and the very excellent BBC Radio Four. In fact there is now so much to do on a Sunday, I find myself longing for the days when everything closed and Sunday was a day of rest, not so much from work as from the hustle and bustle of the week.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

