Springingtiger's Blog


Logic Puzzles, My Aspergian Pleasure.
July 20, 2013, 23:06
Filed under: asperger's syndrome, autism, disability, success | Tags: , , ,

I do enjoy a good puzzle, preferably requiring logic. I particularly enjoy Sudoku, however, as a rule, I only play Sudoku at work,  it enables me to say, honestly, that I look forward to going to work. I buy the Daily Mail for its excellent puzzle pages, although the extreme right wing views of its columnists are loathsome. I like to begin my shift with Sudoku, it is a positive incentive to turn up for work.

I am not by choice a user of Microsoft Windows, but  the earlier versions of the operating system did have one redeeming feature, Minesweeper. I don’t know how many hundreds of times I have played Minesweeper, but I never tire of calculating the positions of the mines nor the satisfaction of completing the board. Compared with Minesweeper a game of chance like Solitaire occurs as a trivial waste of time.

Towards the end of my shift I like to do a Codeword, by way of a break state and again turn again to the Daily Mail. While the Codeword appears to be a test out vocabulary, it is, in reality, also a logic problem whose primary requirement is an understanding of the structure of words. I follow it with, of course, the mini Sudoku and the Sudoku Cross. I do the Scrabblegram and the Wordwheel which do require a reasonable vocabulary. A good vocabulary is a useful thing, but by no means as entertaining as logic.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

