Springingtiger's Blog


Sleeping Demons
September 8, 2013, 20:00
Filed under: autism, disability | Tags: , , , ,

Within my muscles, there dormant, lives a virus. Rarely does it make its presence known, discouraged by my quiet and temperature life. However, sometimes, when I do too much, or the stress accumulates too much, the sleeping demon wakes.

I tend, at the best of times, to be hypersensitive to sensory stimuli, but when the demon is on the rampage the hypersensitivity is magnified severalfold. It is never as bad as it once was, when it confined me for six months to a darkened room, these days we understand it and do not allow it to run free. The hypersensitivity is one symptom, other infallible indicators are my grey complexion, aching muscles and joints, a terrible and terrifying exhaustion and a throat that feels as though it has been cut from the inside.

I shall now lie down in the dark and sleep in fits and starts until it passes. By tomorrow,I hope, normal (or perhaps, rather, abnormal) function will be restored. And this is why, I am sorry to say, my blog on unsung heroes has been postponed. Good night.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

My thoughts are with you, and I hope you recover quickly.

Comment by Parry Phillips

I have been in bed for over 24 hours, hopefully that’ll get more through the next couple of days ok.

Comment by springingtiger




Leave a Reply

