Springingtiger's Blog


Avoiding Toilets
December 23, 2013, 21:43
Filed under: autism, disability, NLP, success | Tags: , , , , , ,

I have an intense dislike of public toilets, I am generally okay with urinals, apart from the smell, but I find it very difficult to use a public water closet. I am sometimes in agony by the time I get home from town because I will always try and wait until I get home rather than use a public toilet. The seat that is sat upon by strangers is not the seat to be sat upon by me.

Unfortunately it is not always possible to avoid using a public water closet and so I travel well prepared. I carry with me hand cleaner, antiseptic wipes and moist toilet paper just in case I am compelled to use public facilities. I try, whenever possible, to use a wheelchair access cubicle because it contains washing facilities. By using an antiseptic wipe on first the door handle and lock, the taps and then the seat I am confident I have minimised the possibility of contamination. When I am unable to clean the handle of an exit door I have to use a piece of paper or gloves to hold it, sometimes I wait for someone else to open the door and nip out behind them.

As far as I am concerned there is a correct sequence for the performance of every action and a break from routine is annoying. However I realise how fortunate I am that I can, with some effort accommodate a degree of change. Admittedly, usually because I have several predesigned alternative strategies ready and mentally rehearsed; I see little value in being paralysed by lack of a suitable strategy. I think that, for someone with Asperger’s, I get off quite lightly with a reasonable degree of flexibility and a not too compulsive dislike of germs, but there are others who are not so fortunate. The mild inconvenience my foibles cause me is as nothing compared to those of people with an obsessive compulsive disorder, by comparison I consider myself very fortunate to have Asperger’s, life could be much worse.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

