Springingtiger's Blog


The Eighth Day of Christmas

On the Eighth Day of Christmas my true love gave to me…

A new beginning. The Eighth Day of Christmas is the first of the New Year and, this year is also a new moon. If the seven days off a week represent a mundane cycle, the Eighth day represents a level above, thus in some cultures a woman is considered purified eight days after menstruation or birth and allowed to re-enter society and Jewish boys are circumcised eight days after birth. The wheel of the year is divided by the solstices, equinoxes and the mid points between them. The wheel of the law has eight spokes for the noble eightfold path. In both India and China eight is a lucky number associated with wealth.

Were Jesus born on the twenty fifth of December then the first of January would be the day on which he was circumcised and received into the community, in effect the day his life began, the previous seven days given to purification. So the new year begins today and traditionally today is the day people make their resolutions for the new year, resolutions that sadly tend to fade away by the end of January. The problem with resolutions is that, unlike goals, they are not constrained by time and detailed steps. I managed to blog every day of Twenty-Thirteen because that resolution was subject to time constraints and was also manageable. However those constraints no longer bind me, my blogging challenge has finished; if I don’t publish this today I don’t care….aye right! I’ll finish these twelve days because I said I would.

Last year’s challenge was as much about integrity as blogging. I’m not sure about resolutions for this year, but it is going, again, to be very much about integrity. Integrity is saying what you will do and doing it, so this year my resolution is to think before I speak, and that will be a radical departure for me! I don’t know about you, but I am really looking forward to this year, I hope it is as good for you as I expect it to be for me.

Today’s blog has been brought to you by the number Eight and the letter A for alive, Asperger’s and autism.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

