Springingtiger's Blog


Made Summer (NaPoWriMo Day 4)
April 4, 2015, 23:36
Filed under: autism, disability, Gardening, Poetry, Scotland, Writing | Tags: , , , , , ,

image

It is NaPoWriMo Day 4 and the weather has been beautiful. A cursory examination of the garden reveals the magnitude of the task before me, but on such a beautiful day out I’d impossible not to be happy. I wrote a poem and here it is.

Made Summer (NaPoWriMo Day 4): https://youtu.be/02D0uRtME4k

Made Summer
At last the winter of our discontent
Is past, and I do not care where it went.
Enough now to be rid of ice and snow,
‘Twas rough, I felt that it would never go,
But now it seems at last that Spring is here.
Somehow Spring Equinox marks the new year
Rather than Christmastide and Hogmanay’s
Palaver. It is the lengthening day
That brings the hope of summer to my heart,
Where springs anticipation of the start
Of sunny mornings and warm afternoons
And some evening drinks beneath the moon.
My thoughts turn once again to gardening,
I ought to have some seedlings hardening,
There’s leaves to sweep, weed ridden ground to clear
It grieves me that there’ so much work this year,
But should I wish to enjoy summer’s sun
I would need to get my garden work done.
And when the garden is tidy and neat,
It’s then I shall drink beer and take a seat
And rest knowing that my time was well spent
And best, in that rest and thought, be content.

Made Summer (NaPoWriMo Day 4): https://youtu.be/02D0uRtME4k

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

