Springingtiger's Blog


Spring Evening (NaPoWriMo Day 20)
April 20, 2015, 23:48
Filed under: Poetry, Scotland, Writing | Tags: , , , ,

This evening, having spent the day in the garden, I looked towards the Kilpatrick hills at sunset and seeing them silhouetted, grey against the pink sky, this poem suggested itself.

Spring Evening (NaPoWriMo Day 20) on YouTube.

Spring Evening
The spring evening sun enflames the Acer
Outside my bedroom window it has grown.
I purchased it because it was a dwarf,
That is what I was told, I was told wrong.
Below the Acer, Daffodils in bloom
Shine bright, reflecting the evening light
That turns the sky above the grey hills pink.
As evening settles on my garden
Narcissi, Tulips, and Hyacinths white,
Stand out brightly in the dying light.
Primroses like posies ‘neath the roses
Demand division, but my decision
To lift them with the spade has been delayed
By my indecision; they remain marooned
In the unpruned rose bed. Lack of courage
And lack of knowledge stays my secateurs.
On some spring morn soon I should grasp the thorn
And do the many jobs that should be done,
But I would rather just sit in the Sun.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

