Springingtiger's Blog


The End Of Days (NaPoWriMo Day 25)
April 26, 2015, 00:04
Filed under: Poetry, Writing | Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday morning, Sounds Of The Sixties. This evening the first James Bond film on television. Nostalgia it’s running rampant. Right You Tube isn’t cooperating do this is getting posted as it stands.

The End Of Days
The Sounds of the Sixties
Played on my radio,
Bringing back memories of long ago.
The songs of my childhood
Listened to after school
Beneath the blankets with the volume low.
In Sixty Two James Bond
Came to the silver screen
Tonight I have been watching Doctor No;
Which is where it began.
I was young, not a man,
How my life would turn out I did not know,
But since then there have been
Surprises on the way,
Sometimes I wish my life would run more slow.
Those were the days, my friend,
We thought they’d never end;
We could never know how fast they would go.
I enjoy the old songs
On the records I play,
I realise I believe in yesterday.
I look at my grey hair
See the sun going down
Christ you know it ain’t easy, so they say,
Someday all this will end,
Those days won’t come again,
But With me they’ll stay forever and a day.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

