Springingtiger's Blog


I Dreamed of Dinner
February 4, 2016, 17:46
Filed under: food, Health | Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

It is the strangest thing, but a couple of nights ago I dreamed my dinner. I didn’t dream of a dinner I had had (that would not be unusual for me!) my dream gave me the recipe for the coming evening’s meal. My meal plan for the week had already gone adrift so another change was going to make little difference and it did use ingredients I already had which made it virtuous. I know not from whence came the recipe, perhaps it is something I read once and forgot, but I made it and it was good. As it was so simple I will share it with you. I call it Chickpea and Sweetcorn Stew, if I had a tagine I suspect it would be called Chickpea and Sweetcorn Tagine.

2 onions (one white, one red) chopped into chunks.

1 rounded teaspoon of minced garlic.

4 medium potatoes chopped.

3 medium tomatoes quartered then each quarter halved to make chunky eighths.

2 medium carrots halved lengthways then sliced.

1 largish courgette halved lengthways then sliced.

1 240g drained weight (or there about) can of sweetcorn.

1 240g drained weight (or there about) can of chickpeas drained and rinsed.

2 teaspoons of salt.

1 teaspoon of black pepper.

Nearly 2 teaspoons of smoked paprika (my hand shook).

1 rounded teaspoon of Cumin.

1 rounded teaspoon of Ras Al Hanout (the dream said Sumac, but Ras Al Hanout just felt right).

1 cup of cold water, plus more if necessary.

Fry onions and garlic until soft.

Add potatoes, allow to brown slightly.

Add carrots and tomatoes stir well and fry for a couple of minutes to sweat.

Add all other ingredients apart from water and stir well allow to cook for another couple of minutes.

Add water stir well, Bring to boil then simmer on low heat for 30 minutes or until carrots are soft (at 30 minutes mine were still al dente).

Check seasoning then serve with rice or bread. (It’s actually nice just on its own). It should serve four. You could garnish it with coriander if you felt like it, I didn’t have any.

The preparation was very quick and easy. While it was cooking I baked a loaf of very easy Spelt Bread (from a Sophie Grigson recipe) whose dough finished proving just before I put the stew on to cook, we ate the stew with the warm Spelt Bread. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this and got a couple of meals from it.

. 

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

