Springingtiger's Blog


NaPoWriMo 2016
wpid-20130808_170220_1.jpg

Ganesh: God of Writers and Beginnings

Wow it’s the Twenty-eighth of March already and that means only three days until the First of April. This year as only twice before I am going to add NaPoWriMo to the fun things I do to keep myself entertained while I study life on your planet.

NaPoWriMo is ‘National Poetry Writing Month‘. Actually that’s a complete misnomer because it is international. All over the world poets and would be poets will be rising to the NaPoWriMo challenge. That’s another reason it’s a misnomer, Poetry? Okay there will be some good poems written, perhaps some great, but there will be some stinkers. Trust me, I’ll be writing some of them!

The NaPoWriMo Challenge is to write a poem every day of April (I suspect it is no accident it starts on All Fools Day!). In all honesty I can expect in a good year to get half a dozen poems out of the month with which I am reasonably pleased. I will get s few more that may become worthwhile with some working. However there will be some which I doubt I will ever want to revisit.

Because we have to shove the poems onto the World Wide Watusi at such a pace it is impossible to give them the polish and revising that many of them need. There will be a lot of doggerel. I suppose there are some who will daily produce an elegant sonnet or a page of iambic pentameter, but I doubt there will be many. Some years I am grateful if I can produce half a dozen not too execrable couplets and if I can actually make them rhyme, so much the better. But that’s the point, not to produce perfection (although if we can then great!) rather to produce. It is an exercise to stimulate facility with metre and with rhyme. At the end of the month, however bad some of my verses, experience tells me I will be left with a sense of accomplishment and, hopefully, a few poems of which I can be proud.

I think the other thing to remember about NaPoWriMo is to enjoy it. Too many people take poetry too seriously, most not seriously enough. No one expects anyone to produce a masterpiece every day so during April poets can write without worrying about meeting anyone’s expectations. April is a month to enjoy poetry and the poetic process. Poetry can be fun and it can be funny, and sad, solemn, ribald, religious, profane. Poetry can be employed to express any emotion, idea or philosophy conceivable to man. Poetry is a tool of self expression, but also importantly of communication. If you don’t want to write a poem everyday of the month why not read one. You could go to the NaPoWriMo website to find websites where the poems of the month are being posted or you could just pick up a poetry book and read, perhaps you may enjoy it, perhaps you may be inspired to write. As for those writing, remember the song they used to play on ‘Friday Night Is Music Night’? By J. Raposo

“Sing, sing a song,
Make it simple, to last your whole life long,
Don’t worry that it’s not good enough,
For anyone else to hear,
Sing, sing a song . . .”

William Purkey says Dance like nobody’s watching. Dancing or singing or writing poetry…do it for you and have fun!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

