Springingtiger's Blog


Steampunk Shopper Reconoitres Helensburgh.

image

I didn’t manage to get to Helensburgh on Sunday to see the Cherry blossom, so I decided to go today and at the same time assess its suitability for a Glasgow Ubiquitous E Steampunk Society walking workshop.

Helensburgh is easy to get to by bus and train from Glasgow. I could have taken the 1B from Argyle Street, but add I was starting from Maryhill I took a 60 to Clydebank and caught the 1B outside the station. The whole journey takes a little over two hours from my home. The train journey from Glasgow takes a little over half an hour.

I got off the bus outside the Helensburgh Central Station, but began my walkabout on the sea front where is to be found the Commodore Inn, of which I have written before. More importantly for me today, there are public toilets on the sea front. Sadly the  Cancer Research shop is closed until further notice but both the DEBRA and the British Heart Foundation shops are still trading.

The other main area for the Steampunk Shopper is West Princes Street which contains the Salvation Army and Shelter charity shops, but also two Antique Shops: The Attic and The Beehive, had I taken money with me I should have bought a nice swagger stick. There is also a junk shop run by a mission who’s name escapes me, you never know what surprises a junk shop may yield.

Today I did see my cherry blossom. If I were taking a walking workshop to Helensburgh I think I would include the Hill House designed by Charles Rennie MacIntosh. As well as being a design classic surrounded by a very good garden it contains a shower to delight any Steampunk.

I don’t think the shopping alone would fill a day although there are some good shops. But an expedition to the Hill House and a luncheon added to the mix would provide a good day out.

image

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

