Springingtiger's Blog


Not The Jungle Book.
May 18, 2016, 21:17
Filed under: Film Reviews | Tags: , ,

Yesterday I saw Disney’s new CGI Jungle Book, I was disappointed. Don’t get me wrong it’s not a bad film, it’s a good film. The special effects were amazing and the vocal cast excellent. Neel Sethi who played Mowgli was excellent.

It all started so well with a story from the Second Jungle Book, ‘The Coming of Fear’ But within minutes on true Disney style they had changed and lost the point of the story. They claim it’s based on Rudyard Kipling’s Jungle Book, I would say very, very loosely based.

It took me some time to learn to like the original Disney cartoon version of the Jungle Book, I had first to separate the film from Kipling’s book before I could even bear it. The problem is that the new film is neither a remake of the original Disney cartoon nor faithful to the book. It could have been a powerful, serious film or a comedy like the original, it is neither while trying to be both.

There is much to commend about this film and if you haven’t read Kipling’s books or seen the original Disney cartoon you should enjoy it. If you can put the originals from your mind, then it is well worth seeing. Unfortunately I found myself comparing the film to the book, given time I may yet learn to like it.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

