Springingtiger's Blog


Perfect Day

image

It was a perfect day. The sort of Glasgow summer day that is made all the more magical for its rarity. My day got off to an unexpectedly good start when, as I entered the Glasgow Botanical Gardens, I met Lynne and Robert, two old friends with whom I had lost touch. A happy happenstance.

The Glasgow Ubiquitous E Steampunk Society had organised an afternoon of taking photos in the Kibble Palace in Glasgow’s Botanical Gardens. Primarily because the Victorian wrought iron and glass of the building would both provide appropriate backdrops for our pictures and shelter from the inevitable rain. Rain which, despite this being Glasgow and a bank holiday weekend, failed to appear.

The greenhouse was so hot I could scarcely breathe, fortunately the gardens provided plenty of suitable settings and so the photographs were taken al fresco. We even got photographed by a photographer from the Daily Record; in Glasgow people enjoying the sun is news.

We rounded off our day with a visit to the monthly ‘Granny Would Be Proud‘ craft market where our associates in ‘Victoriana for Voluptuous Vixens‘ had their Steampunk fashion stall. I know I mutter that their prices are too low, but I don’t complain when it comes to paying them. Their prices are low and their stock just gets better and better. Several members of the Society seized the opportunity to add to their wardrobes and accessorie

image

s.

After some shenanigans I walked much of the way home in the shade of the trees beside the Kelvin and completed a pleasant afternoon sitting in the garden drinking tea with my wife. Some days come as close to perfect as it is possible to imagine, today was one of them. It’s not quite over as I’m writing this after eleven p.m. while watching the last dying glow of the sunset. Now I’m finished and so is my day. Goodnight.
i

image

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

