Springingtiger's Blog


Grieving.
June 4, 2016, 23:33
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:

I was listening to the radio news earlier today and the newsreader said, “There is only one story in the world today, the death of Mohammed Ali”.

Today the government could have announced any amount of bad news and no-one would have noticed, no-one would have noticed! He was the greatest sportsman of the Twentieth Century, he was voted the Sports Personality of the century and he had monopolized every news report all day. I couldn’t work out why I was feeling bad, my wife said, “It’s called grieving”. It seems the world is grieving. I never met Mohammed Ali, but I remember in my first year at prep school a group of us gathered around a transistor radio by the classroom block listening to the Cassius Clay, Sonny Liston fight. I was there because I wanted to be part of the group, I don’t think I understood the implications of the event, but I’m glad I heard it. From that moment the man who became Mohammed Ali became part of all our lives.

There’s nothing I can say that can add anything to the reports and the tributes paid today to Mohammed Ali. There’s nothing new I can tell anyone about Mohammed Ali. There’s nothing I can say, today I am grieving, it seems the world is grieving, I suspect we’ll be grieving for a while.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

