Springingtiger's Blog


Running To Stand Still
August 1, 2016, 22:09
Filed under: Gardening, Health, Scotland, Steampunk, Writing | Tags: , ,

wpid-2013-07-16_08-43-04_HDR_1.jpg

Some years ago I was sorely tempted to buy myself an irrigation system for my garden. I am so glad I didn’t, what a waste of money that would have been. This year I haven’t needed to take out my hose once. Rather than an irrigation system my thoughts are turning more to the question of installing additional drainage!

The quantity and frequency of rain here in the West of Scotland means that opporchancities for just enjoying the garden are limited. However the abundance of rain does mean that in the intervals between showers when we get into the garden there is garden to enjoy, and then some. All the experts say that we should not cut our lawns when the grass is wet, if we paid any attention we couldn’t see out of the ground floor windows. Clay soil, frequent rain, and sunny spells does at least mean that my garden is flourishing. Flourishing? It’s romping away faster than I can keep up with it.

Unfortunately the bad weather of last year coupled with my ill health meant that I started this Spring somewhat behind schedule. While my health is improved, I suspect I may finish this year behind schedule too, but hopefully not as badly.

I have embarked upon a new garden strategy. Realising that I have no commitment to gardening in the rain I have categorised and chunked my garden tasks so that I can take advantage of the gaps between downpours. I have big jobs for those rare days when I can spend uninterrupted hours in the garden and filler in tasks like hand weeding for the rest of the time. I am beginning to see some progress, not as much as I would like, but definitely progress.

Even now that I am no longer in employment there never seems to be time for everything I want to do. I can think of a thousand and one things to do in the house. I was thinking today that I might read the Bruce Trilogy by Nigel Tranter, it’s at least two decades, perhaps more, since I bought it. I have free bus pass and Scotland to explore. I am not using my Unlimited Cinema card as much as I would like to feel I was getting best value from it, and there are so many films to see. It is several weeks since I last watched one of my accumulation of unwatched DVDs. I have a leather strap on a pair of goggles to rivet. I am part way through building a Steampunk gun, it’s a couple of months since I bought the brass tube that will be the barrel. And all the time my garden presents me with a daily reminder of how much there is to do. Oh and I’ve got a newsletter to put together.

Werner Erhard says that, “All there is to do today is what you get to do today!” Which is all very well, but it leaves a hell of a lot for tomorrow!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

