Springingtiger's Blog


Free Decorative Goggles From A Yoghurt Drink
20160802_220014

Dedicated to Valerie Singleton!

This is a piece I wrote for the Newsletter of the Glasgow Ubiquitous E Steampunk Society. It seems a shame not to get the maximum mileage out of it!
In Lidl recently they had various flavours of Lassi on sale. As I took off the lid with its circular see through top I thought ‘Goggles’ as you do. Although Lassi is only on sale periodically, their iced coffee drinks come in similar pots.

Materials: 2 Lassi drinks.
1 sheet A4 card
3 paper fasteners
glue (I used a hot glue gun)
paint (I used Humbrol Enamel 62 Leather and Revell Email Color 93 Copper)

upload_-1(1)

1. The first step was to drink the Lassi (Yum) remove the cardboard outer, the wash and dry the pots.upload_-1
2. Using a pen (Sharpie) O marked out the shape of the body of the goggles. I copied it from my usual goggles. However as these goggles are designed for decorating a hat and not serious use I dare say you could be more fanciful if you wished.
upload_-1(2)3. Cut out the goggle cups. I used scissors, if you cut outside the line you can trim them later.
4. Mark lines where you will cut the plastic for the straps and nose piece.  20160802_142455
5. Because the plastic is flimsy I taped inside the goggle cup to reinforce the slit I was about to make.
6. Using a modelling knife, very carefully cut slits for the straps and the nose piece.

20160802_1423347. I had an elastic strap left over from when I replaced it with a leather one. However I thought it would be more in keeping with the build to use something cheaper so I cut two lengths of paper card the width of the slit from the long side of a sheet of A4 paper.
8. I cut a strip of plastic the width of the nose slit from the remaining piece of one of the Lassi pots.

9. I folded the plastic strip in half and the folded it towards either end the provide a tab for gluing.  (See picture next to 5.)
10. I painted the straps and goggle cups with leather coloured enamel paint. The straps being absorbent only really need one coat. The cups are translucent and so need a second coat after the first is dry. You could alternatively cover the cups with ‘sticky-back plastic’ as the great Valerie Singleton used to say.20160802_144040
11. I painted the ‘lens housings’ with copper paint. Again you can use what you like, I’m just using what I have available and need to use up anyway.

20160802_15072612. When the second coat of paint was dry I glued together the two sides of the nose piece.

13. Push the nose piece through the slits (carefully) and glue.
14. Gently push eye cups into the lens housings.20160802_213046
15. Push one strap through a slit and fold back on itself. Remove again.

20160802_213226

16. Fold both straps together so fold is in the same place.20160802_213508

17. With straps folded, pierce a hole through all four sections so holes are in the same place on both straps.
18. Push both straps through the slits in either cup with shorter end on inside.

20160802_213808  20160802_213921
19. Join each strap to cup with a paper fastener.

20. Sit the goggles on a hat to test strap length. (My straps were okay, but if you have a larger head you may need to cut your straps diagonally from the card.)
20160802_21510221. Now its time to fasten the straps. I cheated and took an adjusting buckle from an elastic strap, but you could simply fasten with a paper fastener. I folded the end of one strap around the middle of the buckle and pierced a hole for the paper fastener. I pushed one leg through the buckle to make a tongue and bent the other leg back to secure the strap.20160802_215111
22. Pass the other strap GENTLY through the buckle and until the goggles are snug against the hat, then mark where the tongue will pierce the strap and shape the end of the strap with scissors.
23. Remove the strap. Pierce the hole for the tongue.
24. Pass the strap back into the buckle, pass the tongue through the hole, and pass the end of the strap out through the other side of the buckle.

20160802_215510 20160802_215413

25. Add cogs or whatever to taste…or lack of it!

NOTE: These are made of plastic and paper and not designed for rough use. Having said that, they are sturdier than I expected and it would be possible to make them considerably stronger by covering the cups with sticky-back plastic and using a double thickness of card for the straps.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

